Advisory Committee

The responsibility for the success of the WCDS rests with the WCDS Advisory Committee whose members represent those organizations with a major role in the sponsorship or organization of the Seminar. Stakeholders represented on the current Advisory Committee include Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Alberta Veterinary Medical Association, University of Calgary Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, the dairy industry (Animal Nutrition Association of Canada, equipment companies, financial institutions, pharmaceutical companies), as well as one representative each from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia.


Our thanks to the following individuals and organizations for the time and effort that they have devoted to making the 35th Western Canadian Dairy Seminar a success. In particular, Dr. Lorraine Doepel, Dr. Karen Beauchemin, Dr. Marcos Colazo, Mr. Nelson Dinn, Dr. Tim Mutsvangwa, and Dr. Mike Steele are recognized for their contributions in organizing the program.


Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Karen Beauchemin
Lethbridge Research Station, Lethbridge AB 


Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
Marcos Colazo, Edmonton AB 
Pauline Van Biert, Edmonton AB 


Alberta Milk 
Pieter Yff, Innisfail AB 
Gezinus Martens, Calmar AB, Vice Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee 


Alberta Veterinary Medical Association
Betty-Jo Bradley
Livestock Veterinary Services, Picture Butte AB


Animal Nutrition Association of Canada
Alin Friedt
Proveta Nutrition, Red Deer AB


Representative from British Columbia
Nelson Dinn
UBC Dairy Education and Research Centre, Agassiz BC


Equipment Representative
Brent Leyenhorst
Agrai Dairy Mart Ltd., Nisku AB


Financial Institution Representative
Tom Terrill
CIBC, Red Deer AB


Representative from Manitoba
Raymond Mangin
Dairy Farmers of Manitoba, Bruxelles MB 


Pharmaceutical Representative
Norman Machell, Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
VĂ©toquinol N.-A., Olds AB


Processor Representative


Representative from Saskatchewan
Tim Mutsvangwa
University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon SK 


University of Alberta
Masahito Oba
Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science 

Mike Steele
Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science

Kate Davies, Conference Coordinator
Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science


University of Calgary, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Lorraine Doepel







c/o Department of Agricultural,
Food & Nutritional Science
4-10 Agriculture/Forestry Centre
University of Alberta
Edmonton, AB, T6G 2P5 Canada

Phone: (780) 492-3236
Fax: (780) 492-5771
E-mail: wcds@ualberta.ca