Advisory Committee

The responsibility for the success of the WCDS rests with the WCDS Advisory Committee whose members represent those organizations with a major role in the sponsorship or organization of the Seminar. Stakeholders represented on the current Advisory Committee include the University of Alberta, Alberta Agriculture and Forestry, Agriculture & Agri-Food Canada, Alberta Veterinary Medical Association, University of Calgary Faculty of Veterinary Medicine, dairy producers, and the dairy industry (Animal Nutrition Association of Canada, equipment companies, financial institutions, pharmaceutical companies), as well as one representative each from Manitoba, Saskatchewan and British Columbia.

Our thanks to the following individuals and organizations for the time and effort that they are devoting to making the Western Canadian Dairy Seminar a success.

Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
Nilusha Malmuthuge
Lethbridge Research Station, Lethbridge, AB

Alberta Agriculture and Forestry
Pauline Van Biert
Edmonton, AB

Alberta Milk
Tietsia Huyzer, Vice-Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
Olds, AB

Alberta Veterinary Medical Association
Laverne Seib
Gull Lake Veterinary Services, Lacombe, AB

Animal Nutrition Association of Canada
Hamid Khazanehei
Masterfeeds, Calgary, AB

Representative from British Columbia
Nelson Dinn
UBC Dairy Education and Research Centre, Agassiz, BC

Equipment Representative
MJ Sharma
Lethbridge Dairy Mart, Lethbridge, AB

Financial Institution Representative
Mike Koornneef, Finance Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
ATB, Red Deer, AB

Representative from Manitoba
Miriam Sweetnam, Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
Dairy Farmers of Manitoba, Winkler, MB

Member at Large

Pharmaceutical Representative
Elad Ben-Ezra
Zoetis, ON

Processor Representative

Representative from Saskatchewan
Greg Penner
University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK

University of Alberta
Divakar Ambrose
Anne Laarman
Kira Hames, Conference Coordinator
Department of Agricultural, Food and Nutritional Science, Edmonton, AB

University of Calgary, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine
Karin Orsel, Program Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
Department of Production Animal Health, Calgary, AB

Young Producer Representative
Dustin Grisnich, Promotions Chair, WCDS Advisory Committee
Windy Creek Dairy, Fort Macleod, AB